Do Feet That Turn In Warrant A Trip to the Doctor?

Q: I’m a 20 year old female, and I’ve always had a strange gait. My parents even had me checked out when I was a toddler, but the issue was diagnosed as typical intoeing (where the feet turn inward instead of straight ahead,) so there was nothing to worry about.

However, lately my mother noticed my gait has gotten worse. My right foot has started turning in more than usual, and my overall gait looks off.

This has happened before, but after a few weeks, my gait returned to my normal level of intoeing. I normally in-toe, and sometimes my feet knock my ankles when I walk or run.

In addition, my right shoulder is slightly higher than my left, and my arm doesn’t naturally stay in place — it hangs out a couple inches to the side. I can force it to the side, but it isn’t natural like with my left arm.

My doctor has never noted anything such as scoliosis in my spine.

My mom thinks I should get the gait issue checked by a doctor or a podiatrist, but I was wondering if you had any thoughts about this, or think it’s worth getting checked out?

A: This orthopedic podiatrist located in Chicago’s West Loop (60661,) Roscoe Village (60618,) Elmhurst (60126) and Bartlett (60103) says…

It’s a good idea to have your gait checked out by a doctor and see what is causing these issues. From what you’ve told me, it sounds like you may have some scoliosis, and the in-toeing may be compensatory as a result.

In cases like this, orthotics (specialized shoe inserts) may help, or postural exercises might fix the issue.
My advice is to make an appointment to see a good osteopath or a board-certified podiatrist. For instance, the doctors at Ankle and Foot Centers can perform a gait analysis and can outfit you with a pair of pre-made or custom orthotics that might be able to help you, or recommend exercises.
Just remember that even though you appear to be symptom free, can’t hurt to practice preventive medicine.

We hope this helps, and good luck!
For more information, visit thinkfeet.com!

Ankle N Foot Center docs and staff

Leave a Reply

